Support Forums
How To Link Workstation Tags

I am new to VTScada, and I want to monitor our networked PCs at home.

I used workstation tags but the only one that is working is the local PC where VTScada is currently installed (I have it in 2 laptops but it doesnt work, although I can see them in the dropdown menu when I first configured the workstation tag.

1. Am I missing some steps? For example, do I need to create a parent comms tag first?

2. If I need to create a comms tag, what port number will I use?

Please advise. Thank you.

I am new to VTScada, and I want to monitor our networked PCs at home. I used workstation tags but the only one that is working is the local PC where VTScada is currently installed (I have it in 2 laptops but it doesnt work, although I can see them in the dropdown menu when I first configured the workstation tag. 1. Am I missing some steps? For example, do I need to create a parent comms tag first? 2. If I need to create a comms tag, what port number will I use? Please advise. Thank you.

The network status tags within VTScada monitor VTScada to VTSCada communications. In order for this to work, you would have to have VTScada installed on all the computers.

The network status tags within VTScada monitor VTScada to VTSCada communications. In order for this to work, you would have to have VTScada installed on all the computers.

Doug Spurrell

Hello Doug, thank you so much for you prompt reply.

I have the following concerns though:

1. I would then have to install vtscada in each machine i need to monitor? How come it works of I need to monitor other devices like RTU or a PLC?

2. Should Windows API not take care of that feature anymore?

3. What if I just want to monitor the PC's hard drive and memory- shouldi still need to go to this route?