General Discussions
Preventing operators from stopping applications.

A customer asked: Can operators be barred from shutting down a VTScada application?

A customer asked: Can operators be barred from shutting down a VTScada application?
edited Mar 23 '17 at 7:40 pm

Answer: Yes. VTScada allows you to lock the VTScada Display Manager in full screen and hide the VTScada Application Manager (VAM) making it impossible to accidently shut down the application.

Preventing users from doing it on purpose requires Windows configuration. Our Engineers have locked out Windows on several different projects. This needs to be done by the Windows Administrator using Group Policies for Active Directory. Though these work differently on different OS versions, we are happy to share the Group policy they created for Windows Server 2012 R2. It allows admin users full access to the OS while SCADA users can only use the application.

Answer: Yes. VTScada allows you to lock the VTScada Display Manager in full screen and hide the VTScada Application Manager (VAM) making it impossible to accidently shut down the application. Preventing users from doing it on purpose requires Windows configuration. Our Engineers have locked out Windows on several different projects. This needs to be done by the Windows Administrator using Group Policies for Active Directory. Though these work differently on different OS versions, we are happy to share the Group policy they created for Windows Server 2012 R2. It allows admin users full access to the OS while SCADA users can only use the application.

Another solution is to take away the "Application Stop" privilege from your operators' user accounts. Without this privilege they won't be allowed to stop the app or exit VTScada.

Another solution is to take away the "Application Stop" privilege from your operators' user accounts. Without this privilege they won't be allowed to stop the app or exit VTScada.

-Ryan.

77
2
2
live preview
enter atleast 10 characters
WARNING: You mentioned %MENTIONS%, but they cannot see this message and will not be notified
Saving...
Saved
With selected deselect posts show selected posts
All posts under this topic will be deleted ?
Pending draft ... Click to resume editing
Discard draft